- No comments
OK, you figure you bought the legally mandated auto insurance so you are good. A responsible driver, you are fine with taking care of another person if you are at-fault in an accident — medical bills, property damage, etc. You understand that in order to legally drive a vehicle in the state of California, a minimum amount of liability insurance must be purchased. And you did just that.
These “minimum limits” are $15,000 for injury/death to one person, $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person, and $5,000 for damage to property. For certain drivers, the California Low Cost Auto Insurance Program offers a policy with limits up to $10,000 per person in case of bodily injury or death, up to $20,000 per accident in case of bodily injury or death, and up to $3,000 for property damage. These limits are commonly referred to as 15/30/5 and 10/20/3, respectively.
We are all aware of the cost of medical care these days, and even slight damage to the newer luxury cars ubiquitous to many areas in Southern California can easily run into the high four figure range. Do you believe $15,000 will cover the medical expenses of one person injured in an auto accident? What about the $5,000 property insurance coverage. How much would it cost to repair, say, a quarter panel dent or a paint scrub for a newer model automobile?
It is always smart to consider the highest coverages your budget will allow. Remember that anything not covered by your insurance policy is your responsibility. As always, talk things over with your insurance professional to see that you have as much protection as possible.